Back to All Events

American Dance Guild Festival

  • The Ailey Citigroup Theater 405 West 55th St New York, NY (map)



Date: Thursday, October 25 through October 28 
The Ailey Citigroup Theater, 405 West 55th Street, New York City.
Tickets: $20-40 and are available online through Brown Paper Tickets at

Guest Honorees:  Jane Comfort and Eleo Pomare

Opening Night Thursday October 25: Performances and awards ceremony presenting Lifetime Achievement Awards to the two guest artists , followed by a Gala reception.

Highlights of the festival:

Jane Comfort, 2018 Bessie Award winner, presents excerpts from her work over 40 years including “Street Talk,” “Underground River,”, “S/He,” video and live.

Eleo Pomare, legendary artist, works to be presented: “Radeau/Raft” (1996) presented by Alpha Omega Dance Company; “Hex” (1964) danced by legendary Pomare dancer Dyane Harvey.

Roxanne D’Orleans Juste performs a tribute to master choreographer Donald McKayle, former ADG honoree and advisor with an excerpt from “Heartbeats” (1997).

Historic dance gems: Celia Ipiotis of Eye on Dance will present excerpted archival video interviews with the two honorees on opening night. Jane Dudley’s Cante Flamenco (1944), reconstructed by Nancy Colahan and produced by Santa Barbara Dance Theater, will be danced by Christina Sanchez. Die Unbekannte aus der Seine (1938) a work of Austrian choreographer and concentration camp survivor Hannah Berger is reconstructed and danced by Betsy Fisher.

Works by: Former honoree Douglas Dunn, Ara Fitzgerald, Tina Croll, Sarah Scaggs, Li Chiao-Ping, Loretta Fois, Jin-Wen Yu, Gloria McLean, Elizabeth Shea, Valerie Alpert, Emily Kessler, Linda Lehovec, Nicole Phillippidis, Mary Seidman, Sue Bernhard, Eileen Standley/Mary Fitzgerald, Sahasra Sambamoortha, Elisa Schreiber, Joneice Boykins, Anna Hooper, Stafford Berry, Sabrina Wong, Meghan Phillips, Kathryn Alter, Kara Robertson, Gabriel Mata, Cherilyn Lavagnino, Jennifer Kayle, Elisabeth Archer, and Rebecca Rice.

Earlier Event: June 27
CLD Summer Season 2018